0.7 C
Munich

How to Reset Restrictions Passcode on an iPhone & iPad

Must Read

This article will teach you how to reset your Restrictions passcode by deleting the iPhone completely with a Factory Reset, or by using iCloud or Recovery Mode. Another alternative is to look for third-party software capable of revealing the passcode without wiping the iPhone.

  • On the iPhone, go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Create a new password.
  • Log in to iCloud.com on a computer. Choose Find iPhone > All Devices > the iPhone to be erased > Erase iPhone.
  • Last resort: Recovery Mode Sync the iPhone to iTunes, then select Update from the pop-up menu. Follow the prompts.

How to Reset Restrictions Passcode on an iPhone & iPad

If you forget your Restrictions passcode and need to reset it, there is only one definite way: delete your iPhone and start over. There are three methods for erasing your phone in order to reset your limitations passcode: Making use of your iPhone, iCloud, or Recovery Mode.

Before you delete your iPhone, make certain that you have backed up all of your data. If you don’t, you’ll lose data when you delete your phone and may never be able to recover it.

How to Erase Your iPhone With a Factory Reset

You may completely wipe your iPhone, including the Restrictions passcode, by restoring it to factory settings. 

Follow these steps to do this on the device:

  1. On your iPhone, tap the Settings app to open it.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings and follow the onscreen prompts.Screenshots of how to reset an iPhone to factory settings

How to Erase Your iPhone Using iCloud

If you don’t have quick physical access to your iPhone, you can use iCloud to delete it remotely. This feature comes in handy if your iPhone is lost or stolen. Here’s what you should do:

  1. Go to iCloud on a computer and log in with the Apple ID used on the phone you want to erase.iCloud website login
  2. Choose Find iPhone.iCloud website dashboard showing Find iPhone icon
  3. Select All Devices at the top of the screen and then choose the iPhone you want to erase.Selection of a device in Find My iPhone at iCloud
  4. Choose Erase iPhone and follow the on-screen prompts.iCloud Find My iPhone website

How to Erase Your iPhone Using Recovery Mode

You may also delete an iPhone using Recovery Mode. Recovery Mode is typically used as a last-ditch troubleshooting solution. Don’t start with this approach, although it may be necessary in some instances, such as when your operating system fails and other ways fail. This method necessitates the use of iTunes on a computer.

When nothing else works, use Recovery Mode to delete your iPhone by following these steps:

  1. Hold down the Sleep/Wake button to turn off your iPhone. Hold down the Volume Down button as well on iPhone 6 and newer.
  2. Get a PC with iTunes installed, but don’t launch it yet.
  3. The next step is determined by the model of your iPhone:
  4. iPhone 8 and later:
  5. Connect the syncing wire to your iPhone. Hold down the Side button while connecting the wire to the computer.
  6. Plug the syncing wire into your iPhone 7 series. Hold down the Volume Down button while connecting the wire to the computer.
  7. iPhone 6S and older models:
  8. Connect the syncing wire to your iPhone. Hold down the Home button while connecting the other end to the PC.
  9. Continue to press the Side, Volume Down, or Home button (depending on your iPhone model) until the Connect to iTunes screen displays.
  10. A pop-up box in iTunes offers to Update or Restore the phone. Click Update and then follow the on-screen instructions.

Third-Party Programs That Reset Forgotten Restrictions Passcode

Erasing your iPhone is a drastic method of resetting a forgotten Restrictions passcode. There may be software that can assist you if you want to avoid this.

A quick search for software on your favourite search engine should yield a plethora of results. Consider customer feedback, price, and whether the merchant appears trustworthy.

The majority of these tools work in the same way: they search existing backups of your iPhone data on your computer for the Restrictions passcode. Then you can use it to change settings or the passcode on your iPhone. Of course, you must have a backup of your iPhone that includes the passcode.

After you’ve erased your iPhone and reset the restrictions passcode,

There are a several actions you can do after you’ve wiped your iPhone and reset your Restrictions passcode:

  • Set up iPhone: Now that your device has been restored to its factory-new state, you must re-set up your iPhone.
  • Redownload music and apps: If you have a large collection of music, apps, or other material from the iTunes and App Stores, you can redownload it all for free.
  • Set a new Restrictions passcode: If you want to continue using Restrictions, you must create a new passcode. This time, make it a code you’ll remember.

The one thing you don’t want to do is restore an iPhone backup that contains the same Restrictions passcode that you forgot. If you do this, you will be back in the same scenario you were in at the start of the process. You could restore a backup that doesn’t include the passcode, but you might lose some data that was created between the backup and today.

What Is the Distinction Between Restrictions and Device Passcodes?

On the iPhone, there are two types of passcodes: device passcodes and Restrictions passcodes, and it’s vital to understand how they differ.

iPhone Device Passcode

When you wish to use a device, you must enter a device passcode. It’s a security feature that prevents unauthorised users from accessing your device. This is entered on the lock screen (unless you use Touch ID or Face ID).

iPhone Restrictions Passcode

A Restrictions passcode prevents your phone’s Restrictions settings from being modified or disabled. This is entered in the Restrictions section of the Settings app. It prevents those who shouldn’t be allowed to change the Restrictions settings (such as children) from doing so.

You set up each passcode separately, so there’s no connection between the two unless you use the same code for both, which you don’t. It’s insecure and makes guessing the Restrictions passcode easy).

How To Reset RESTRICTIONS PASSCODE IPHONE all IOS

FAQ

How can I configure Restrictions on my iPhone?

On an iPhone, go to Settings > Screen Time > toggle on Content & Privacy Restrictions.

How do I monitor my iPhone’s Screen Time?

Go to Settings > Screen Time > See All Activity to view your Screen Time. Tap Week or Day to receive an overview of your weekly or daily usage.

More from Thetechxp

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article